Dare to Be Daring

From rising star Chelsea Lin Wallace and illustrator Lian Cho comes Dare to Be Daring, a rhyming, rollicking picture book read-aloud about facing your fears, big or small—perfect for fans of I Am Courage and Max the Brave.

Today I will dare to be daring.
You say this is pea and beef stew?
It’s green and it’s grimy.
It moved! And it’s slimy!
“I did it! I ate something new!”

From tasting a new food to a trip to the dentist (or the basement!), this picture book is an invitation to be brave in the face of what feels scary. Big or small, fears can feel overwhelming. What if I say “hi” but my new friend doesn’t say “hi” back? What if I get back on my bike and I fall again? What is that sound in the basement, anyway?!

Kids are courageous at heart, and every time they dare to be daring, they learn—with a little bit more certainty—that they are brave enough to try just about anything.

“A fiercely reassuring, wonderfully whimsical ode to courage in the face of uncertainty.” – Kirkus STARRED Review

“The creators have come up with an excellent book for caregivers and children who are struggling with their fears, for discussion or as a guide to pushing through.” – SLJ Review

“Relatable, motivating messaging seems sure to strengthen readers’ resolve.” – Publishers Weekly Review